20 years ago…

13 Oct

My 20 year high school reunion took place this past Saturday. I didn’t go. I went to my 10 year reunion and  even though I enjoyed it, I told myself I wouldn’t go to any more after that. There is something about the high school years that is simply irreplaceable and in part that is why I vowed never to attend another reunion ten years ago. I prefer certain things and people in the past. However, the one thing I can’t believe is that it’s been 20 years since I was in high school! Where did all that time go?! Obviously, a  lot in my life has changed since then but at the core I remain very much the same way I was then. Although, I’ve read some diary entries from that time over the last few days and have found myself laughing out loud because I was so serious about things that weren’t!

Yet, people I hadn’t thought about in a long time have crept back into my mind, as have many memories and I must admit that a bit of melancholy has set in as a result. In part that’s happened because, in the words of The The’s, Matt Johnson, I have felt  “nostalgia for things that were maybe never there,” as well as for those things that were.

In thinking about my senior year, I also remembered the sorts of things I enjoyed and not a whole lot has changed. I was and continue to be a book and museum nerd, a big fan of foreign and period drama films and documentaries, and much like today, I was also  obsessively into listening to albums (and songs) I liked over and over again. The only difference is that  I listened to them  mostly on my cassette tape deck and record player then!That year I listened a lot to The Smiths, always The Smiths, The Jesus and Mary Chain, always the Mary Chain too and the following albums:

And this song is one that encapsulates that year for a multitude of reasons:

It’s so ironic how in spite of how much things change they remain the same in so many ways. Although, I am glad that as I have grown older I’ve learned to take myself less seriously and to laugh at things I didn’t laugh at as a teenage girl 20 years ago. Luckily, that change has allowed me to enjoy the type of life I sought for myself then, to the utmost now.

(First photo: Freshman year, me at 13. Second photo:Cheesy senior portrait, me at 16.)

Leave a Reply

