The Big 3-9.

7 Aug

In one month I will turn 39. I can’t believe my 30s are almost over. It seems like it was just yesterday that I was dreading turning the big 3-0! I don’t know what I was so afraid of, but I was so apprehensive to enter this decade. Yet, so far, my 30s have been the best decade yet on many fronts.

The other day as I showered  I started thinking (so many of my thoughts take place in the shower) about what I had done over the last two decades of my life. I wanted to check what I have done and accomplished against the life list the 15 year-old me created many years ago.

I felt the need to begin assessing my life before turning 40 next year in order to try and prevent myself from having a midlife crisis of some sort and going out and buying a convertible, or whatever the equivalent of that is for women. Maybe it’s botox and/or fillers but I guess women can also go out and buy a convertible if they like. It’s a free country and everyone is allowed to have the midlife crisis they choose.

But going back to my assessment, the 15 year-old me was very happy with the outcome, something that was a feat in and of itself, I was a very demanding kid. Some things haven’t happened in the order in which I had  them on my teenage list nor have they been easy to attain.  In retrospect, it’s a good thing that everything has occurred as it has, even if at times I grew impatient, sad and even angry.

The top things that stood out were the following (in order of occurrence):

  • Visiting most of France by the age of 22 and getting around by  speaking French and actually being understood!
  • Working as a writer for a newspaper.
  • Traveling whenever I felt like it (haven’t done that in a while).
  • Putting myself through graduate school while working full-time and going to school full-time and getting my degree on time. I will never get over being proud of that. That was a lot of blood, sweat and tears, many tears.
  • A career in the arts.
  • A balanced life.
  • Living alone for many years and doing things independently.
  • Meeting a wonderful man who understands and accepts me as I am and even embraces all of my idiosyncrasies.
  • The fan girl in me is happy at the fact that I have seen every singer/band I am a huge fan of live. I can’t ignore that side of me!

I have a good life and have always felt there are angels (aliens, spirits, whatever) looking after me. I have never taken anything good that has ever happened to me for granted because I know nothing is owed to me. There are many things I’ve yet to accomplish and want to experience, but I am pretty certain that when the clock strikes midnight on September 7, 2013, there won’t be two decades of what if’s and regrets behind me. I’ve done everything I’ve wanted to up to this point of my life  in the manner I have chosen to.

Leave a Reply

