Rest.

9 Aug

Next week I will be off for a few days from work and am looking forward to some much needed rest and relaxation. As much as I like being productive and on the go, I also love to rest. Unfortunately, I don’t get the opportunity to rest as much as I would like to, especially right now when I have so much to take care of.

However, I think in part, most of us have it ingrained in our mind that if we are not doing something, we are wasting time. Yet, how can replenishing yourself  mentally and physically be a waste?! I suffer from this ailment  and am trying to alleviate it more and more each day.

Part of my “recovery” next week will include one day of staying home  and doing absolutely nothing but going from my bed to the kitchen, to the couch, to the bed and to the kitchen again. I love and cherish those days because they are  few and far between and I especially love spending time in bed. I also want to go see The Painting Factory at MOCA before it ends,  Woody Allen’s To Rome with Love and Julie Delpy’s 2 Days in New York. I like her writing a lot. To me,  she’s the female Gen X counterpart to Woody Allen. I’m sure I’ll do other things as well, in order for me to fully begin enjoying this summer, even though it’s halfway over!

I found it coincidental that as I wrote this post The New Yorker posted cartoons on idleness. I’ll take it as a sign that the universe is trying to tell me something! This one was my favorite.

Hope your summer has been a great one so far!

Leave a Reply

