To Marry An English Lord.

18 Sep

Like a lot of other women and men, I love  Downton Abbey. However, living in the U.S. means that unlike our friends in the U.K., we have to wait until January for the third season to begin. While I do have Seasons 1 and 2 on DVD to hold me over, I now also have To Marry An English Lord by Gail MacColl and Carol McD. Wallace, to help me while I wait for for the new season.

The book inspired Julian Fellowes to create Downton Abbey and the person who helped me at my neighborhood bookstore, told me it was just as good as the series!I had to buy it! It tells the story of over 100 American heiresses, who like Cora Crawley, Countess of Grantham, left to England to marry into nobility. The book is described as, “Filled with vivid personalities, gossipy anecdotes, grand houses, and a wealth of period details–plus photographs, illustrations, quotes, and the finer points of Victorian and Edwardian etiquette.”

I can’t wait to begin reading it!

Leave a Reply

