Ode to the Bed.

16 Oct

You know those mornings when you really don’t want to get out of bed? Today was one of those for me. Although, if the truth be known, every morning is like that for me. I am not a morning person, at all, never have been. And it’s not that I am necessarily tired when I wake up, I actually have quite a bit of energy. I just simply like lounging in bed and relaxing, and it doesn’t hurt that I can fall back to sleep pretty easily too!

As I was getting ready for work and thinking about how  I would much rather hop back into bed, it made me think of Pablo Neruda’s Ode to the Bed which can be found in Odes to Common Things. Odes to everything from soap to my favorite, the bed, are included. It allows you to think about all the common things around us, and which we use all the time, in a completely different light.

Ode to the Bed

From bed to bed

is this journey,

the journey of life.

The newborn, the wounded

and the dying,

the lover, and the dreamer

all came

and go from bed to bed…

(Photo from Rue Magazine)

Leave a Reply

