Anna Karenina

16 Nov

I love period dramas and I especially love classic works of literature turned into films, so I am looking forward to seeing  Anna Karenina. The cinematography looks like a true feast for the eyes! However, I must admit that though I’ve owned the novel for many years, I’ve yet to read it. So, when I go see the movie I will go in without any real expectations other than to be swept away into a 19th century drama! This time around, I will read the book after seeing the film! Have you read it? Will you see the movie?

(Photo by Laurie Sparham via Focus Features)

4 Responses to “Anna Karenina”

  1. booksoutsidethebox November 16, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I’ve been trying to read this book for years. I did like it, I think just the sheer size intimidates me. And I’ll definitely watch this movie, though I wish they had cast somebody else besides Keira Knightley!

  2. marta November 16, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    I bought the book years ago before I went on a trip. The flight was going to be a long one and I thought it would give me enough time to read a big portion of it. However, I am a very nervous flyer and simply couldn’t focus on the book so instead I started flipping through magazines! I really enjoy Russian literature because the authors write as extensively as they do (Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky is probably my favorite novel) but for some reason I always forget about Anna Karenina and read other books!

  3. Eagle-Eyed Editor November 16, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    I’d like to see AK, but I may read the Cliff Notes before seeing the movie, just to understand everything! ;-)

    I would like to read the book one day, but if it’s too long, that may be difficult. It took me a long time to get through War & Peace.

  4. marta November 16, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I actually considered reading a summary of the book before seeing the movie too, but I’m too much of a nerd and probably won’t. HAHA!

Leave a Reply

