Proust Questionnaire

19 Nov

The Proust Questionnaire is my favorite section in Vanity Fair so I thought it would be fun to answer it. The questions, and most specifically the answers, are supposed to reveal a lot about the person. However, I’m not sure what my answers reveal other than a bit of neurosis! What are your answers? I’d love to read them!

What is your idea of perfect happiness? Being 100% carefree

What is your greatest fear? Death and natural disasters, I guess they go hand in hand.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? My tendency towards OCD’ness

What is the trait you most deplore in others? Toss up between a sense of entitlement and false humility

Which living person do you most admire? The Dalai Lama

What is your greatest extravagance? Sleeping in until 10 or 11 on Saturdays. I wish it could be something more glamorous like jetting off  to my own  private island at any given time.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Patience

On what occasion do you lie? I don’t lie but I am gentle with the truth, especially when it’s ugly. I lack the energy to make up lies and keep up with them…unfortunately.

Which living person do you most despise? I despise anyone who causes unnecessary suffering or angst. Life is hard enough as it is.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
A variety of  versions of  the word “F***!”  and “Oh My God!”

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
Nick, music and books

When and where were you happiest?
Here and now

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? My tendency towards OCD’ness

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Living the life I’ve wanted to up until now

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be? A cat

Where would you like to live?
I already live here…Southern California (a summer house in the French countryside would be nice too!)

What is your most treasured possession? Self-confidence

What is your favorite occupation? Toss up between writing and acting (I need to get on a stage again!)

What is your most marked characteristic? Enthusiasm

What do you most value in your friends? Their common sense and humor

Who are your favorite writers: Too many but Shakespeare is king

Who is your favorite hero of fiction? Jane Eyre

Which historical figure do you most identify with? Queen Elizabeth I, plus we share the same birthday.

What is it that you most dislike? Intolerance, assholes and male chauvinism. I dislike male chauvinist assholes most of all.

What is your greatest regret? None so far

How would you like to die? Asleep or while eating chocolate

What is your motto? Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

(Image of Marcel Proust via Google)

Leave a Reply

