Classic Literature Boosts the Brain

16 Jan

shake

I’ve always loved to read and I’ve always preferred the classics. Now, I will make sure to read them even more because a recent study  at Liverpool University shows that when people read Shakespeare, Woodsworth and others, their brains light up. According to this study, more challenging language triggers more electrical activity in the brain. The study also says that complex language encourages individuals to want to read more.

One of the professors who worked on the study described “serious literature (…) like a rocket-booster to the brain.” This actually makes sense to me because when I was in grad school, there was a certain thrill to deciphering and making sense of Middle English as well as Shakespeare’s prose and verse. However, I think that a  love of reading in general will contribute in similar ways and want to make you want to keep reading more. Any reading at all is good, as far as I’m concerned! What do you think?Will this study want to make you read some Shakespeare? If so, check out MIT’s website where they have all of his plays and poetry.

(Photo via MIT)

2 Responses to “Classic Literature Boosts the Brain”

  1. Siobhan January 16, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    I think that this explains why I am 25% genius. I will have to read more high brow literature to progress….

    But seriously, any reading and thinking you do has to be good for the old grey matter, doesn’t it?

  2. marta January 16, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Yes, absolutely. I also feel the same, like I said, any reading is good as far as I am concerned!

Leave a Reply

