Downton Abbey (Spoiler Alert)

18 Feb

17662

downton-abbey-recap-mary-matthew-wedding-season-3-episode-1

Like a lot of other people who saw last night’s season finale of Downton Abbey, this morning I am still upset about Matthew’s death. I knew that Dan Stevens (the actor who plays Matthew) had not signed on to be part of the fourth season, but I didn’t expect him to be killed off! I was hoping he would’ve been sent overseas  and then maybe he would appear in an episode or two somewhere down the line.  Needless to say, the minute I saw him speeding in the car I knew what would happen next, as much as I didn’t want it to.

Two major character deaths this season make me wonder if Julian Fellowes is trying to tell us something about how he feels about children. Are the deaths of Matthew and Sybil a metaphor for a literal end of life as you know it once children are born? It make me feel like there needs to be a Downton Abbey grief support group in case this trends continues in the fourth season! If you saw last night’s episode, what did you think? Do you think Matthew should’ve been killed off the series?

(Images via Hollywood Life and Telegraph)

2 Responses to “Downton Abbey (Spoiler Alert)”

  1. Marthafied February 18, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    I saw this at Xmas time as I live in the UK but I’m with you! I think it is too depressing they had to kill him off. Exactly, why couldn;t he go off to India or somewhere?!? That at least would’ve left a door open for him to return… having said that… I wonder if Lady Mary will be one of the first estate (female) owners in the country? This leads to a lot of new exciting plot developments I think…

    • marta February 19, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      I can see something like that happening with Mary. I think her character will evolve into a strong and independent woman.

Leave a Reply

