The Messenger

22 Feb

Johnny-Marr-The-Messenger

The Smiths is my all-time favorite band. Their music and lyrics speak to me in a way no one else’s does. Another band whose lyrics I like a lot is The The.  To me, Matt Johnson is the most underrated lyricist and musician of the 80s and really, of all time. What both of these bands have in common is Johnny Marr. He worked with The The after The Smiths split and now after having worked with a myriad of other bands, has released his own album, The Messenger which is really quite good. My favorite track is New Town Velocity which in many ways sounds like a Smiths song, but what makes me like it as much as I do, is that it evokes a multitude of feelings in me. It simply transports me to a time and place long gone. The album will be released next Tuesday here in the U.S. but you can listen to it  here.

(Image via Stereogum)

Leave a Reply

