Morrissey at Hollywood High

27 Feb

6a0128769a17f0970c0147e0fed538970b-800wi

Yesterday I was  lucky enough to be able to get tickets to see Morrissey at Hollywood High. As I have mentioned before, I am a huge Morrissey fan. My love affair with his music began when I was 12 years old, during the days of The Smiths and continues to this day. He will perform at the Staples Center on Friday, yet as much as I love him, I hate that place as a concert venue more. In this case, my dislike for the Staples surpassed my love for Morrissey and that’s saying a lot!

At the time the tickets went on sale for the Staples show, that was going to be  his only  L.A. performance and  I decided I simply wouldn’t be seeing him this time around. THEN, on Monday I read about a show at Hollywood High and knew I HAD to get tickets! You can’t get a more intimate setting for a live show of someone you are a HUGE fan of than a high school auditorium! The fan girl in me is especially excited because years ago as a teenager,  I received an award on the stage of that very same auditorium! Who would’ve thought that one day I could say, I’ve stood on the same stage as Morrissey, granted at different times! ;)  Are you a fan? Have you seen him live?

(Image via Google. It originally appeared on the July 2004 issue of GQ. Photo by Terry Richardson.)

2 Responses to “Morrissey at Hollywood High”

  1. Nanking Martinez March 2, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    I have the same feeling about a large venue for a concert, especially to see Morrissey! I loved the Palladium shows of a few years ago. Hollywood Bowl was nostalgic, as I was there last time with my ex, like Moz, 15 years ago (in 2007), but now with my wonderful husband. Loved that show. I jumped at the chance for this night to see him at least once at HHS. I was extremely lucky to get a pair of tix on the balcony. Have an amazing night seeing yours and my favorite artist!

    • marta March 4, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      I saw him at the Palladium as well! I also had balcony seats for the Hollywood High show which I thought was great except that I started getting sick with a very bad cold that day and halfway through the show I started feeling pretty ill. :(

Leave a Reply

