Difficult Books to Read

6 Nov

Donquixote

Are there any books that you’ve attempted to read and then halfway through or maybe even a few pages into , you’ve given up on? I hate to admit this because I love to read, but I have. One book I’ve never been able to get through is  Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes, but trust me,  there are others! This list on Flavorwire lists 50 books which they consider to be some of the most difficult to get through because of length  or simply because of the manner in which they were written. Some of the books they list are War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, Finnegan’s Wake by James Joyce and Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad.

Yet, while looking through the list, there were books which I have read from cover to cover, unscathed. One of them is the Canterbury Tales in the original Middle English, which was required reading for a Middle English class I took in graduate school.  What difficult books would you add to this list?

(Image: Don Quixote by Pablo Picasso)

2 Responses to “Difficult Books to Read”

  1. booksoutsidethebox November 6, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    I’ve been working on MOBY DICK for over a year and have little hope I’ll ever get through it. I was enraptured for the first 50 pages or so, but I’ve burned out now!

    • marta November 6, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      Yes, there are some books which you simply can’t get through no matter how hard you try! I hate it when that happens, especially when you were looking forward to reading a particular book.

Leave a Reply

