Possessions

22 Nov

200-7200-2250-2

What are you up to this weekend? I am going to clean out our closets. I know, it doesn’t sound very exciting but it’s supposed to rain this weekend and since like a true Southern Californian, I don’t like being out when it rains,  it seems like the perfect chore to take care of. I enjoy donating or getting rid of things I no longer use or need, ever so often. It makes me feel as though my home feels “lighter” after I do that.

Ironically, just as I started working on the closets earlier in the week, I came across photos by Chinese artist Huang Quingjun who photographs people in China with all of their possessions. It made me think of all the unnecessary things many of us own and which we often don’t even have room for, while others simply have the bare necessities, if that.  If you were to photograph all of your possessions, what would that photo look like?

(Photos by Huang Quingjun)

2 Responses to “Possessions”

  1. booksoutsidethebox November 22, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Stacks on stacks of books, tangled electronics, my husband’s shoes stacked high to the ceiling, too many clothes, two cars and some bikes. Love the simplicity of the first pic!

    • marta November 22, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      My photo would also have stacks of books as well as stacks of magazines, a lot of records, cds and some cassette tapes, too many clothes, too many shoes and too many cooking appliances. My husband would require a poster size image to capture all of his things! I also like the simplicity of the first photo a lot.

Leave a Reply

