Oxford Word of the Year: Selfie

25 Nov

george are you in there-290nude photo booth-290good lookin-580Selfies have been around for a while (self-portraits, photo booths, anyone?) and I think we are all guilty of taking them, regardless of whether we post them for the world to see or not. So, the Oxford dictionaries have taken notice and have made selfie the word of the year.

These New Yorker cartoons  made me laugh!They truly capture the essence of our vanity perfectly.I’m curious, do you take a lot of selfies? Do you post them or keep them private? I’ll admit, I take them but they are mostly photos of my outfits and I take them to see if things look okay or if I need to change something before heading out the door. The eye becomes more critical with a photo image rather than a mirror one. It’s the time of the day when I become a fashion editor!  I know, it’s pretty lame and no, I don’t post them.

(Cartoons via The New Yorker)

Leave a Reply

